PCB Announces 18-Player Squad for T20I Series Against Ireland and England


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled the 18-player squad for the upcoming T20I series against Ireland and England. The squad will later be trimmed to 15 players for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 after the first T20I against England on 22 May.

The men’s national selection committee has made notable inclusions, recalling fast bowler Haris Rauf, along with all-rounders Hasan Ali and Salman Ali Agha. Unfortunately, wrist spinner Usama Mir and fast bowler Zaman Khan have missed out from the original 17-player squad that faced New Zealand.

Relevant Read: PCB Proposes Lahore as Sole Venue for All India Matches in ICC Champions Trophy 2025

The squad for the Ireland and England series includes captain Babar Azam, along with Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan.

Salman Ali Agha’s inclusion adds depth to Pakistan’s spin department, complementing Abrar Ahmed, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, and Shadab Khan. Meanwhile, Hasan Ali’s selection is attributed to his extensive experience and impressive performance in the HBL Pakistan Super League 2024.

The squad’s departure for Dublin is scheduled for 7 May following a three-day training camp in Lahore from 4-6 May. The series against Ireland will consist of three T20Is, followed by four T20Is against England.

The men’s national selection committee expressed the challenges faced in crafting the squad, considering the exceptional talent available. They acknowledged the disappointment for Usama and Zaman but encouraged them to continue focusing on their cricket for future opportunities.

The series schedule is as follows:

  • 10 May: 1st T20I against Ireland in Dublin
  • 12 May: 2nd T20I against Ireland in Dublin
  • 14 May: 3rd T20I against Ireland in Dublin
  • 22 May: 1st T20I against England in Leeds
  • 25 May: 2nd T20I against England in Birmingham
  • 28 May: 3rd T20I against England in Cardiff
  • 30 May: 4th T20I against England in The Oval
Previous articlefoodpanda champions Women’s Empowerment at WIBCON ’24
Next articleCAA grants licence to New Airline for business in Pakistan