NCOC announces stricter COVID-19 Restrictions for major cities


In order to stop the spread of Covid-19 infection, the National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC), on Monday announced to impose strict restrictions in several major cities.

Federal Minister for Planning, Development, and Special Initiatives Asad Umar, Said, ‘’the government is targeting the most affected areas to curb the virus’s spread. The new coronavirus restrictions will come into effect from Aug 3 and will remain in place until Aug 31’’.

Initially, the restrictions will be imposed in the following cities across the country.

Relevant Read: Pakistan records an 8.8% Covid-19 positivity rate after 3 months

Rawalpindi, Lahore, Faisalabad, Multan, Peshawar, Abbottabad, Karachi, Hyderabad, Islamabad, Muzaffarabad, Mirpur, Gilgit, and Skardu.

As for Sindh, Lockdowns are already in place in Karachi and Hyderabad. After August 8, the NCOC’s new curbs will also apply in Sindh too, the minister said.

Indoor dining will remain suspended while outdoor dining will remains open until 10 pm. Takeaway and home-delivery services from restaurants will be available 24/7.

All commercial activities will be suspended by 8 pm instead of 10 pm in these cities.

Markets and shops will remain closed twice a week. Decision about safe days for market closure is provincial governments prerogative. Public transport will operate on 50% capacity to avoid crowding inside vehicles. Public and private offices can operate with 50% workforce.

The forum has imposed a ban on processions and gatherings as well. Maximum 400 vaccinated guests can attend the Weddings.

Previous articlePakistani movies to be screened in Beijing
Next articlePeople changing the world with their fame